Virat Kohli makes history, gets to 12,000 T20 runs, second-fastest after Gayle to record feat | Ipl News

Virat Kohli became the first Indian to reach 12000 T20 runs during the IPL 2024 opener in Chennai on Friday. (BCCI)

Virat Kohli completed 12,000 runs in T20 cricket during the IPL 2024 opener between Royal Challengers Bengaluru and Chennai Super Kings at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Friday.

Kohli reached the milestone when he touched six runs during the season-opening contest. The 35-year-old RCB batter is the sixth player overall and the first Indian to reach the 12000-run landmark in T20 cricket.

Kohli second only to Gayle

Virat Kohli reached the mark in his 360th T20 innings, making him the second-fastest batter to reach 12000 T20 runs behind Chris Gayle, who reached the feat in only 343 innings. Kohli pushed David Warner down to three, the Australian having achieved the landmark in 368 innings.

Among Indians, team India skipper Rohit Sharma follows Kohli with 11,156 T20 runs.

Virat Kohli T20 World Cup Royal Challengers Bangalore player Virat Kohli during a training session ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 cricket tournament, at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, Monday, March 18, 2024. (PTI Photo)

Kohli has slammed eight T20 centuries in his career, seven of which have come in the IPL – the most for any batter in the league. Kohli also stands third in terms of fifty-plus scores in T20s with 99 such scores – only bettered by Gayle and Warner.

Festive offer

Kohli made his T20 debut on April 3, 2007, for Delhi against Himachal Pradesh in the Inter-State Twenty-20 Tournament, later renamed as the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy. He made 35 in the match.

The Delhi batter has predominantly amassed his T20 runs in internationals and the IPL. Kohli is the leading run-scorer in T20Is, being the only male batter to cross 4000 runs as yet. He is also the leading run-scorer in T20 World Cups (1141). Kohli has also extended his run in the IPL with RCB since 2008, becoming the only batter to aggregate 7000-plus runs in the tournament.

Kohli also holds the record for most runs in a single edition of the IPL (973 runs in 2016) and the T20 World Cup (319 runs in 2014).

Most runs in T20s

Chris Gayle – 14562 runs
Shoaib Malik – 13360 runs
Kieron Pollard – 12900
Alex Hales – 12319
David Warner – 12065
Virat Kohli – 12000*

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *